21 Weeks

Weeks: 21

Total Weight Gain: About 12 pounds

My Body: Feeling…soft. My belly just keeps trucking along and it feels like it has doubled in size over night. It is now pretty noticeable although still kind of on the lines of “chubby” if a stranger saw me walking down the street. Changes have definitely been happening in other places too but I won’t go into detail about that on here. (you’re welcome.)

Maternity Clothes: I am currently doing a mix and match of my regular clothes with maternity clothes. I can still wear my regular pants and do the hair tie trick (like I am today) but I just noticed that the zipper will not go up as high anymore and my shirt isn’t quite long enough….whoops. Any pants that sit anywhere near my bellybutton are super uncomfortable now too. They either have to be on my hip bones or my full panel maternity pants. Anything in between is awful and Baby B squirms around non-stop. Maternity shirts are slowly starting to work now too as they are long. My regular shirts are slowly starting to creep up as the day goes on so I either have to wear a cami underneath or just wear a maternity shirt.

Cravings: I am craving something sweet at night after dinner a lot lately. I bought mint chocolate chip ice cream on the weekend and that has been treating me so right.

On the topic of food though, since becoming pregnant I really don’t get hunger pains anymore. I go from not really hungry to feed me I am growing to throw up in a matter of seconds. Lately since the baby is a lot bigger it feels like everything I have goes straight to the baby and then my body is left with the leftovers. I had a scary moment last week when he was going through a growth spurt I think and was eating like I normally would but apparently that wasn’t enough and I was pretty close to passing out. I had the cold sweats, my heart was racing and saw stars. Since then I have brought a lot more “just in case” snacks with me to work so I can grab something quick. I have had to quickly get over my food hangups and just eat when my body tells me I need to eat without second guessing myself. For most dinners I am eating the same if not more than Brian and last week I ended up having to eat a second dinner a couple hours later because I was hungry again. I figure as long as I am eating nutrient-rich food there is nothing to be ashamed about feeding my baby (For full disclosure I did break down last week and had McDonalds for dinner but sometimes you just gotta do it and it isn’t a regularly occurring thing). To show you what I mean this is what I brought to work to eat today:

– 1 apple

– 1 orange

– 2 hard boiled eggs

– 1 fruit & nut trail mix bar

– 2 quinoa cookies

– 1 chicken sandwich with avocado, cucumber, lettuce, harvarti, and sriracha on ancient grain bread

I start my day off with a bowl of vector cereal with almond milk, have my snacks and lunch while at work, and then dinner last night was lemon-dill tilapia with couscous and kale (I had two pieces of fish). Then of course my ice cream landed in there later on and a couple of Brian’s jalapeno chips. But overall I am happy with what I have been eating and feeling lucky that I don’t have any crazy aversions anymore at this point.

Sleep: Pretty good considering the weird dreams and the pee breaks. I have switched my snoogle out the last couple of nights in favour of just a pillow between my knees. Sometimes you just need some cuddle time with the husband!

Baby Items Bought/Received: Brian cracked and bought some baby clothes on the weekend. We were in Winners and he went straight to the baby aisle and started looking around and ended up finding some adorable baseball-themed outfits and teeny-tiny socks. I took a picture but I promised I wouldn’t post it because he got all embarrassed but it was so adorable how excited he got 🙂

Best Baby Moment: I felt him move from the outside! The movement has been getting stronger and stronger so it was only a matter of time but it was a shock nonetheless. I was reading my iPad with my arm over my stomach and I felt the movement from the inside and the outside at the same time, it was crazy! I felt it again last night and put Brian’s hand on my stomach so that he could feel too and all movement just stopped ha ha.

Goals: Cleaning my house. That counts right? I think it is a side effect of nesting where I look around the house and all I see is stuff I need to clean or get rid of before the baby comes.

Worries: None…other than cleaning my house.

Looking Forward To: Going on our babymoon in two weeks! Also our first appointment with our new doctor.

 

xo T

 

2 thoughts on “21 Weeks

Leave a Reply

