Marvelous Monday

Well the beginning of another week and unfortunately it is starting off snowy. This is the view I get from my office window today:

snow

 

However I refuse to only focus on the negatives and instead choose to be Marvelous In My Monday. Thanks Katie for the link up!

marvelous

 

The first snowfall of the season is always a bit scary to drive in because everyone is used to dry roads and keep thinking that they can drive the same way when there is snow on the ground. Especially with my new car I am super paranoid and drive like an old lady in the winter most of the time πŸ™‚ #aintnoshame. Brian left for Edmonton yesterday and isn’t back until tomorrow which sucks because I can never sleep well when he isn’t there. Usually I have to watch Netflix on the iPad until I fall asleep which usually works but last night it backfired. I always save the most ridiculous and girly shows to watch when Brian isn’t around so I don’t get made fun of, so last night I started Season One Episode One of The Vampire Diaries….and it sucked me in. Like bad. Coupled with the fact that I already couldn’t fall asleep, I got sucked in (ha get the pun?) and I stayed up a lot later than usual because the show was surprisingly good. And then when I did fall asleep I had super messed up dreams because I had watched 3 hours of vampireness beforehand. Ugh such a bad idea.

The-Vampire-Diaries-Season-2_1920x1200

 

So today is definitely a coffee day.

Other than that my weekend was pretty good! I accomplished my goal of being active all weekend with yoga on Friday, a 5 km on Saturday and a cool 7 miles on Sunday. The Goodbye Party/Birthday party on Saturday night was a bit of a bust unfortunately. Only 8 people showed up and the only highlight was all the boys doing a shot from this unmarked bottle of liquor that someone had brought back from Kenya. We are all pretty sure it was straight rubbing alcohol but they did it anyway and I wish we had recorded their reactions (hint: it looked exactly like you think it would look like when someone takes a drink of something similar to rubbing alcohol).

alliwantisadrink

Last night we had family dinner at my parents house (sans Brian of course) which was delicious and I tried kohlrabi for the first time! Ian just boiled it until tender and I ate mine plain (I love me some veggies!). We all agreed it tasted like a mix between broccoli stems and cauliflower. Pretty neat! We enjoyed it alongside a pheasant that Ian had caught (shot). Β And then we played Heads Up. Which is a game you download on your iPad that apparently Ellen Degeneres plays with some of her guests on her show (It’s only $0.99 in the App Store)

headsup2

 

(Source)

It is HILARIOUS! You can choose different categories and your team has to get you to say the word on the screen to get as many of the words within a minute. The game comes loaded with a bunch of categories but you can buy extra ones if you want. My family and I chose to buy the Adult Supervision category because we are not awkward. it could get awkward fast if you play this category with the wrong people but honestly the category is worth a try just once (it’s not THAT bad). Some of the other categories are:

– Act It Out (no talking, you have to act out what the word or scene is on the screen)

– Blockbusters (movie titles)

– Icons, Legends, and Idols

– Hey Mr. Dj (have to get them to guess the song name and singer. You are supposed to hum it but we allowed singing as long as you didn’t sing the name of the song)

It was a great time and a good way to get some laughs in while spending quality time with your family. I hope you all have a great Monday!

xo T

3 thoughts on “Marvelous Monday

  1. Pingback: Treat Yourself Tuesday | tawnylee

Leave a Reply

