Newlywed Questions

Having only been married for 4 months I am no way an expert in marriage or relationships but I do know a thing or two about some of the questions people just love to ask newlyweds.

1. When are you having kids. This is a big numero uno for people to ask just out of curiosity or whatever. Just a heads up: this question begins the day of your wedding. Just wait for it. I know a lot of people are (maybe) just trying to make conversation but it gets old pretty fast when you are already getting asked ALL THE TIME (for the record, the answer no we have no plans for kids at this present time). This question is comparable to when you just get engaged and people ask all the same questions such as, how did he propose? When is the wedding day? However with the kids question it involves inquiries about my body and that kind of weirds me out a bit…am I alone on this?

2. Did anything change after getting married? I think this question specifically targets couples who have never lived together before marriage and who are not used to their partner’s habits on a 24/7 basis. Brian and I’s story is a little bit different in that regard because when I moved in with him I moved in with him and 3 other men. Yes that’s right I was so blinded by love I moved in with 4 dirty men into an ex-party house. It wasn’t awful but it did take me 3+ months of going room to room cleaning on my hands and knees before I felt completely comfortable there. I still have nightmares about the bathroom *shudder*.

yuckWe have been alone in the house for just over a year now and I think in some weird twisted way, having to put up with 4 guys makes having to deal with one a cake walk ;).

3. Where did you go on your honeymoon. This question is the least annoying because we had an amazing time on our honeymoon (part I & part II) and loved talking about it. Although it gets hard trying to recount all the details when its a few months later. I almost guaranteed that this question is a segway into question #1 though so just a heads up.

DSC_7061I have learned a lot in my first four months of marriage. It is true when I say nothing really changes once you get married but on a more emotional level it does. The mindset is no longer “me against the world” but more like “the two of us can take on the world”. It is reassuring to have a partner in life that is there for you no matter what. I truly believe that I found my soul mate and he is the person that I am supposed to be with for the rest of my life. Which is why I don’t mind answering the typical newlywed questions because I would do it all over again in a heartbeat if that meant I got to be with Brian.

xo T

One thought on “Newlywed Questions

Leave a Reply

