Redemption Tastes Sweet

Our Thanksgiving dinner kind of helped get my cooking mojo back after this horrible fruit pie disaster but I have to admit I was still kind of shaken. So this weekend when Brian and I were invited to go over to our friends house for a BBQ and we were in charge of bringing the dessert I figured that this was a sign that I needed to redeem myself with the notorious fruit pizza. Verdict? Nailed it.

dance_will

 

I was so on my game this weekend I woke up Sunday morning and made pancakes for everyone and then started some chili in the slow cooker to freeze. Who am I?!

I was still pretty sore on Friday from using the bench press on Thursday so I took Friday off from working out. Saturday I ran 6 miles though and then did an easy 5 km on Sunday.

5km

 

The fruit pizza and I have a tumultuous history that goes way back to my early teen years when I made it for the first time with my friend Christina (it is her mom’s recipe). So now dear friends I will share it with you because honestly it is super easy, very delicious, and once I tell you how to make it, it will become clear why me screwing it up was so embarrassing. photo 3(1)(yes this is a photo from the one that I failed at, I forgot to take a photo of the masterpiece from the weekend :()

So first up, make the crust. You will need:

– 2 cups all purpose flour

– 1/2 cup icing sugar

– 1 cup cold butter (I used margarine)

Mix the icing sugar and flour together in a medium sized bowl. Cut in butter until the mixture resembles crumbs. My margarine was quite gooey so I added it in stages to make sure it was evenly distributed. Then press mixture onto a greased pizza pan until it is evenly distributed and about the size of a plate. (This weekend I needed to have the dessert in something that was easy to transport so I tried pressing mine into a glass pie plate. It worked well, however the crust was quite a bit thicker than I would like.) Then pop the crust in the oven at 350 degrees F for about 12 to 15 minutes or until the crust is lightly browned (FYI the pie plate took quite a bit longer because it was so thick).

While the crust is in the oven beat together:

– 1 (8 oz) package cream cheese

– 1/3 cup white sugar

– 1 teaspoon vanilla

Beat this mixture until smooth. Spread evenly over cooled crust (make sure it is cool or else it will be hard to spread). Now the fun part! Pick whatever fruit you desire to arrange on the pizza. I used strawberries, kiwis, and a banana. But you could also use pineapple, blueberries, raspberries…whatever you would like! For my fruit pizza I used:

– 1 cup strawberries

– 1 banana

– 2 kiwis

I always add a glaze on top but you don’t have to if you want to cut down on the sugar intake. The glaze just kind of blends everything together and adds a bit more flavour. It kind of acts like the cheese on a pizza 😉

To make the glaze you will need:

– 1 cup pineapple juice (if you used pineapples for your pizza you can use the leftover juice from the can!)

– 1/2 cup white sugar

– 2 tbsp corn starch

– 1 tsp lemon juice

Mix the ingredients in a saucepan over medium-high heat and make sure there are no lumps from the cornstarch (Tip: I mix half of the juice and the cornstarch in a cup beforehand and that ensures that the cornstarch dissolves correctly). Bring to a boil while stirring constantly. Once boiling keep stirring it for about two minutes as it gets thicker. You will know when it is done because it will coat a metal spoon. This change occurs fast so make sure you keep an eye on it or it will burn very quickly. I usually end up using about 1/3 of this mixture on the fruit pizza but it depends on your own preference. For easiest distribution I use a tablespoon and drizzle the glaze on top of the fruit until I am satisfied. However if you want to just dump the entire pot of glaze on top that is okay too. If you do that make sure you scream YOLO* at the same time and then send me a picture because that would be legendary.

*YOLO = You Only Live Once. It is quite popular to use it on Social Media with a hashtag (#) when people do something dumb or something they may regret later.

So there my friends is the infamous fruit pizza recipe. I hope you enjoy it and now you can all unanimously laugh at me now that you realize what an easy recipe I screwed up. Ah F*** it whatever, YOLO amiright?!

xo T

One thought on “Redemption Tastes Sweet

Leave a Reply

