Wing Bet

I don’t know how, but our kitchen cupboards are FULL of gadgets and random cooking appliances that we use once in a blue moon (I am looking at you hamburger press). The exception to this is our counter top rotisserie that we use once a week and is super handy. But the point is, we don’t need more kitchen “stuff”.

With Fall comes football season and with football season I lose my husband every Sunday into a blackhole of NFL RedZone and sport bet tickets. One or two of his friends usually come over too and snacks are always in high demand. Last year one of his friends brought over his actifry machine and made wings in it and since then Brian has been trying to convince me to buy one of these machines. Knowing that we have no more room for random kitchen gadgets I said I could make homemade wings for him on Sunday and if they were better than the actifry then we wouldn’t buy it. The Wing Bet was born. Have I mentioned that I have never made wings before? How hard could it be!?

I knew that Brian prefers dry wings but that he also likes hot wings on occasion so I made two batches of wings from two different recipes. I went off this recipe for the hot wings and this recipe for the dry wings.

I started by lining two baking sheets with tinfoil. First up, the hot wings. I varied from the original recipe a bit because I was only working with 1 pound of wings:

– 1 lb wings

– 1 tbsp oil

– salt & pepper to taste

I just used a large mixing bowl and tossed the wings with the ingredients until evenly coated then placed them on one of the baking sheets (the hot sauce goes on them after they come out of the oven).

Then I started on the dry wings. For this batch I put the wings in a large ziplock bag then put in my ingredients. For this recipe I used:

– 1 lb wings

– 3 tbsp olive oil

– 1 massive glove of garlic from the farmer’s market pressed in a garlic press

– 2 tsp chili powder

– 1 tsp garlic salt

– salt & pepper to taste. Brian loves pepper so I added A LOT of pepper.

wings13

Massive clove of garlic

I started by adding the olive oil then locked the bag and massaged the wings until they were evenly coated. I then added the garlic and massaged until evenly coated. I repeated this process with each ingredient because I didn’t want one wing to have all of the chili powder on it or something like that. I then placed this batch on the baking sheet and put both batches in the oven at the same time at 375 degrees F for 1 hour.

wings1

While the wings were in the oven I cut up some farm fresh carrots and celery and made a dipping sauce for the hot wings (oh yeah I went all out!). Neither Brian or I like bleu cheese so I couldn’t find a good recipe that I liked online to dip the hot wings in. I ended up “winging” it (ha) and the result was pretty good! For the dip I used:

– 1/2 c sour cream

– 2 tbsp miracle whip

– 1/2 green onion (I used the whole white part and half of the green part)

– 1/2 of a massive garlic clove

– 1 tsp dried oregano

– squirt of lemon juice

– dash of s & p

It was nothing fancy, I just wanted something refreshing and cool to dip the hot wings into.

wings2

wings3

I pulled the wings out of the oven and checked the temperature (it was my first time making them so I just wanted to make sure I wasn’t going to get anyone sick).

wings5

For the hot wing sauce I mixed 1/2 c of Franks Red Hot Sauce and 1 tbsp of butter and poured most of it on the wings (it made too much sauce so I didn’t use it all)

I then plated both batches with carrots and celery and presented it to the boys.

wings7wings8

First bite.

wings9

wings11

And the verdict is…

wings12

I think my kitchen will be saved from another gadget. Although now I am expected to make these every week so I am not sure if I won this bet or not…

xo T

One thought on “Wing Bet

  1. Pingback: Weekend Recap | tawnylee

Leave a Reply

