The Sads

Does anyone ever have one of those days where things just aren’t going your way? Nothing overly terrible happens but it can feel a bit defeating. There were a few times today where all I wanted to do was close my office door and do one of these over-used cliche moves

gif

But I am proud of myself today. I made a conscious effort to turn my mood around. For starters, I swallowed my pride and apologized to a coworker if I came across like I had an attitude. In the past I would have just fumed about it then went home and vented to Brian about all my work problems, but after I apologized we had a talk about where both of us were coming from and the decisions that we had made and it helped a lot.

I also have identified the cause of a lot of my stress at work is hyper-focusing on the negative instead of being grateful for a lot of the awesome things that I get to do at my job. Like wear turquoise jeggings (business casual FTW!), travel to awesome places such as Banff and Whistler, be on twitter, facebook, and pinterest and get paid for it. I have a lot of perks with my job and for a while there I was only focusing on the negatives. Sometimes it is actually hilarious how much my boss is like the boss from Office Space. Coffee cup and everything (his is blue but still).

Bill-Lumbergh

Mentally focusing on the things I am grateful for instead of the things that are pissing me off definitely helped me today. That and this photo:

Sunshine

For some reason, that chubby little sun makes me smile every time I look at it! Weird right? Β So question for you, what do you do to change your attitude to be more positive? Sometimes all you need is a really good sweaty, hard run or workout and that makes all the difference (I will probably still do that tonight as well) but today I tried something mentally and it worked well so hey maybe it just depends on the day!

Apologies for the all internet photo post but hopefully that little ray of sunshine brought a smile to your face like it did for me πŸ™‚

xo T

5 thoughts on “The Sads

  1. I can totally relate to how you feel! My poor boyfriend has to listen to me complain about work constantly and I often think to myself, “just shut up!” I should be happy that I am physically able to work or that I have job at all. Focusing on the positive is so important. Happiness is a choice!
    Great post! πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: An Off Day | tawnylee

Leave a Reply

