Mega Zucchini & Bean Brownies

I can honestly say that this weekend was the most baking I have ever done at one time in my entire life. It all started innocently enough with these giant zucchini Brian’s boss gave us

Zucch1

*please ignore my post yoga hair! I did a few wheel poses and you can definitely tell!

We actually got 3 zucchinis from his boss (brown banana added in for size reference :P)

Zucch2

Massive right!?

So on the weekend I made it my mission to bake away our surplus of zucchini. I started off by making four loaves of zucchini bread. That’s right, FOUR! I used this recipe minus the walnuts and it turned out really good! The only thing is that not having baked with real flour or granulated sugar in so long, I am having a hard time eating it and my stomach can definitely tell that I am not used to eating most of these ingredients. I pawned off one of the loaves on my parents and Brian and I are dropping off a loaf to his boss along with some zucchini brownies!

I made 3 batches of brownies this weekend. This recipe:

1 cup almond butter

1 1/2 cup zucchini (I put it in the food processor until finely chopped and then strained the water out by squeezing it in between paper towels)

1/3 cup honey

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1 cup chocolate chips

Put batter in a greased 8×8 or 9×9 baking dish (I don’t have either of these sizes so I used my 9×13 for both recipes and they turned out fine) for 35-40 minutes at 350 degrees until a toothpick comes out clean.

Zucch3

I also tried this recipe just because it made me really curious:

1 15 oz can Black Beans

3 eggs

2 tbsp coconut oil

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup mini chocolate chips (I used regular sized)

1 cup zucchini, grated & pat dry

In a blender, combine everything except chocolate chips and zucchini until smooth. Fold in zucchini and chocolate chips. Put batter in a greased 8×8 pan (again I used 9×13 #rebel) for 30-35 minutes in a 350 degree oven until toothpick comes out clean.

Zucch4

I really lucked out because Brian had some friends over for fantasy football draft picks so I got to use them as my guinea pigs for these recipes. I was especially curious to hear Brian’s reaction to the second batch of brownies because he doesn’t overly like black beans and he really doesn’t like coconut or coconut oil. But lo and behold, his favourite brownie recipe was the one that contained both of those ingredients! The overall consensus was that the bean brownies, although had weird ingredients, tasted the best. The other brownies had a bit too much spice and tasted more like “an afternoon tea square” as one of Brian’s friends told me (don’t ask me how he knows what those taste like), whereas the bean brownies were super chocolatey and gooey but fell apart really easily. I made another batch of the winners for Brian to take to work today. His coworkers probably think I am some weird mad scientist in the kitchen but they have all never been on Pinterest (where I got the recipes from ;))

So in total I made 3 batches of brownies and 4 loaves of bread. Guess how many zucchini that used up.

One.

I still have two giant zucchinis left! Anyone want to help me out with some recipes?! PLEASE?

How was your Labour Day weekend?

What is your favourite way to eat zucchini?

3 thoughts on “Mega Zucchini & Bean Brownies

  1. Pingback: A Pause. | tawnylee

  2. Pingback: Yum Yum Wednesday – Chocolate Zucchini Beanie Brownies

Leave a Reply

